THE BOY AND HIS GRANDFATHER 🧑‍🦳✏️

A Story Worth Your Time.

A little boy asked his grandfather,
«Grandpa, what valuable lesson can you teach me that will help me become a better person?»

His grandfather paused for a moment, and then said,
«Learn this… of all the people in the world, there is one person you should compete with. And that person should be your only competitor.»

Curious, the little boy asked,
«Who on earth could that person be, grandpa?»

His grandfather responded,
«Can you guess?»

The boy uttered,
«My father?»

The grandfather replied,
«No.»

«My mother?»

«No.»

«My brother?»

«No.»

«My best friend?»

«No, again.»

«My class mate?»

«Not at all.»

«Ok, now I know… My class teacher?»

«Absolutely not.»

Unable to guess correctly, the boy then asked,
«Who is that then?»

At that moment, his grandfather smiled warmly, and then said,
«It’s you… None other than you. Your only competitor should be you, the person you were yesterday. Once you learn this, you’ll become a better human.»

Life is a competition, but it’s not a race against any one else. Rather, the real journey is only against yourself and your unrealized potential. If you are constantly competing with others, you will become bitter because you will start comparing yourself to others. You will feel guilty about not doing better like them. And after some time, you will become jealous of others. While competing with others, you lose your sense of mind and follow someone else’s path which will never satisfy your soul. On the other hand, competing with yourself will make you see where you need improvement and appreciate where you already have done well. Be in a competition with no one and always try to be better than the person you were yesterday.

I let my stories teach the life lessons.

Publicado por pk 🌎

Maestro de Educación infantil desde hace 20 años.

66 comentarios sobre “THE BOY AND HIS GRANDFATHER 🧑‍🦳✏️

Deja un comentario